Skip to content 2024 Stim Bullitt Civic Courage Scholarship – The Seattle Public Library Foundation

2024 Stim Bullitt Civic Courage Scholarship

The Foundation is pleased to announce this year's three winners!

In its eleventh year, the Stim Bullitt Civic Courage Scholarship honors the legacy of the late library supporter, community leader, and activist Stimson Bullitt, who believed that civic leadership could make a lasting positive impact on society. The contest challenges local high school and college students to write an essay about an individual or group from our state who demonstrated the courage to advance an important community issue at great personal, political, or professional risk.

First-place winner Leah Morgan and runners-up Tali Chang-Hong Braester and Hannah Lindell-Smith each won tuition support from the Foundation by writing essays on courageous Washingtonians who improved their communities by fighting for their ideals.

Each year, $10,000 is divided among three outstanding students and their essays are permanently cataloged in The Seattle Public Library’s Seattle Room.

We are grateful for the time and efforts of the authors who judged the finalists: Stacy D. Flood, Jon Krakauer, and Kristen Millares Young.

Congratulations to our winners!

Leah Morgan (she/her)
$5,000 scholarship
High school: West Seattle
Next stop: University of Maryland
Library branch: Central Library
Read the essay: “Jeanette Williams: An Unstoppable Force”

Tali Chang-Hong Braester (they/them)
$2,500 scholarship
High school: Lincoln
Next stop: University of Washington
Library branch: Fremont
Read the essay: “Pulling the Thread”

Hannah Lindell-Smith (she/her)
$2,500 scholarship
High school: Summit Atlas
Next stop: South Seattle College’s Promise Program
Library branch: Southwest
Read the essay: “Past the Stage of Patience: The Central District Youth Club and Seattle’s Movement for Civil Rights”