2018 Stim Bullitt Civic Courage Scholarship Winners

The Seattle Public Library Foundation congratulates Sophia Carey, Isabel Emery, and Sylvie Corwin, recipients of the 2018 Stim Bullitt Civic Courage Scholarship!

Now in it’s fifth year, the scholarship honors the legacy of Library supporter, community leader, and activist Stimson Bullitt, who believed that courageous civic leadership could improve the lives of people in our community both now and in the future. Students are challenged to write an essay about an individual or group of individuals from Washington state who have demonstrated civic courage on an issue of importance to the community at great personal, political or professional risk.

This year’s three winning essays focus on Maru Mora-Villalpando, a community organizer who advocates for immigrant rights, Native American Chief Leschi, who resisted the resettlement of his people in the 1800s, and a group of five climate activists who temporarily shut down the Keystone pipeline in 2016.

Sophia Carey
$5,000 scholarship
Hear Me Out: Maru Mora-Villalpando, the Deportation Machine, and the Universal Meaning of Liberation

Sophia Carey - 2018 Stim Bullitt Civic Courage Scholarship recipient

Sophia is attending the University of Washington.

Isabel Emery
$2,500 scholarship
Chief Leschi: The Story of a True American (dedicated to Charles Emery)

Isabel Emery 2018 Stim Bullitt Civic Courage Scholarship recipient

Isabel is attending Loyola University.

Sylvie Corwin
$2,500 scholarship
Oil and Activists Don’t Mix: How Five Individuals Shut Down Five Pipelines

Sylvie Corwin 2018 Stim Bullitt Civic Courage Scholarship recipient

Sylvia is attending Whitman College.